{myadvertisements[zone_1]}
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Landfall procedure?
I've been reading some old Air Force manuals which mention using the Landfall procedure as a safe means to arrive at your destination while flying.

Francis Chichester used it (maybe invented it) and Fred Noonan did also (though for the latter it didn't work out too well).

Can anyone explain it to me as I'm rather confused in how to do it.

Paul
{myadvertisements[zone_3]}
Paul,

I'm no expert of even too knowledgeable about the Landfall procedure. 

I read Chichester's method a long time ago but remember very little about it.  Pretty sure you calculate Hc and Zn for the destination based on your ETA (Estimated Time of Arrival) and then turn 90° to the right or left (depending upon....) run the the azimuth down.

Here's what I found on the web (it's attached in this post).

Maybe that'll help explain Landfall to us all?

Clen

Attached Files
.pdf   Landfallfromnif04.pdf (Size: 657.58 KB / Downloads: 699)
Hi guys,  here is a webpage that has a lot of good info about landfall procedures.  The page is focused mainly on Fred Noonan and Amelia Earharts last flight but as stated before, lots on landfalls.  
https://sites.google.com/site/fredienoon...-procedure

To oversimplify the process all you do is travel (fly or sail) purposely to one side of your destination and precompute a LOP over your destination for your ETA.  When your sextant tells you that you are on that LOP you then turn towards your destination and head down the line until you arrive.  Remember you  went off to one side so you know which way the destination is and can turn towards it.  This is usually used during the day when the sun is your only body for a sight.  If it were nighttime you would just shoot some stars and get a fix.   I've only been learning celnav for a month so I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure that's right.
Baendu,