{myadvertisements[zone_1]}
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello
Hello,

Delighted to be accepted as a member of this exclusive forum.

I have been boating for more than 45 years and have decided it is high time I learned the art of Celestial Navigation. Having studied 2 books Tom Cunliffe and Mary Blewitt I feel I have a reasonable understanding of the subject, however both books use tables (AP3270) to determine the Intercept and to continue my studies I would like to be able to calculate Zn and Hc directly using a scientific calculator.

I turned to youtube and found Cram Daily PH

Formula for missing side

cos xz = cos px  cos pz  +  sin px sin pz cos P

After much ado I discovered how to use this formula and arrived at the same answer as the example given.

Formula for angle

cos Z = - cos P cos X + sin P sin X cos Px

Not attempted this formula yet 

I then discovered Chris Nolan

Formula for side

sin Hc = sin L sin D + cos L cos D cos LHA

Due to my success with the previous formula I had little trouble with this arriving at a very similar answer to the example given although I tried it to a different number of decimal places on the calculator which reveals quite different results

Chris Nolans formula for Z

cos z = sin D - sin L x sin Hc / cos L x cos Hc

Not tried this yet

I am at a very early stage regarding studying this direct method and hope to learn more from this forum.

If anyone is interested I can post my exact workings for the above

I do have a specific question but I guess this is enough of my ramblings for now.

Mike
{myadvertisements[zone_3]}
Mike,

We are all trying to master this skill and make it as easy as possible and it does get confusing.

Firstly, Chris Nolan is very good at explaining celestial navigation.  But sometime there's complexity we miss.

The following formulas are found in the Almanacs at TheNauticalAlmanac.com and also here;
https://thenauticalalmanac.com/Formulas.html