{myadvertisements[zone_1]}
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Celestial Nav problem I can't solve
Hi All. I'm currently studying Celestial Nav, and have a problem I'm hoping to have someone provide a little help with if you wouldn't mind.  http://www.seasources.net/youtube%20vide...uction.mp4. If you jump about 5mins 20 secs into the video, there is a Problem 3.  I don't get the same answer, and just can't see where I'm going wrong.  Thanks
{myadvertisements[zone_3]}
Ray,

What is meant by "the time diagram"? Perhaps they mean converting E 163° 51' to time difference from GMT. If that's so the difference is either 11 hours or 10 hours 56 minutes.

To begin, the corrected chronometer time is 09:09:50 before correcting it for GMT.

Using hyphens for a time figure is poor practice.

Once we get the correct GMT the rest will be easy.

Would you please let us know what the time diagram is?

Thanks,

Ed
Hi Ed,
Thanks for pitching in.  I believe the Time Diagram is their way of working out GMT from chronometer time I believe.  They have a video on it.  If you move about 40 seconds into this video, they take about it http://www.seasources.net/youtube%20vide...ometer.mp4 

Thanks
Ray
Ray,

I don't know whether they're using Ho-249 or Ho-229 or if they're just using a calculator.  The resulting plots will all be close to each other.

Using the time diagram the specifics are as follows;

Date= January 16, 1981 (why must it always be "1981"?)

GMT= 21:09:50 (corrected for chronometer error)

Ho= 13° 42'   (13° 41.9')

GHA= 134° 58'

Sun's declination= S 20° 49.4'

LHA= 298°     (determined by 135° (GHA rounded up) 164° (DR Longitude rounded up)

Hc= 33° 49' (33° 48.7')

Zn= 121°

Intercept= 07' Away

Comment- The answer they provide is incorrect or they're being exceeding picky.  But......

Correct answer is 06.8' Away.  Round it up to 07' (seven minutes)